7 European Union Countries that Haven’t Adopted the Euro


Share post:

In the European Union, there are 27 countries, of which 20 use the Euro as their official currency. Most countries commit to transitioning to the Euro upon joining the EU. Croatia was the most recent addition to the Eurozone, adopting the European currency on January 1, 2023.

However, 7 EU member states have chosen not to adopt the Euro and continue to use their historical national currencies.

EU Countries that DO NOT use the Euro


A country with stunning mountain ranges, glacial lakes, and resorts along the Black Sea. Bulgaria also boasts numerous historical landmarks, making it a diverse travel destination. With its affordability, Bulgaria has long been an attractive European destination.

Currency: Bulgarian Lev (BGN) (1 BGN = 0.51 Euro).

Czech Republic

Located in central Europe, the Czech Republic is renowned for having the highest concentration of castles on the continent. Some of these castles and fortresses date back to the 14th century. Prague, one of Europe’s most beautiful cities, adds to its charm, with its architectural splendor and Czech beer traditions dating back to 993. All these factors make the Czech Republic a prominent destination for architectural and historical tourism.

Currency: Czech Crown (CZK) (1 CZK = 0.041 Euro).


Denmark, the smallest of the Scandinavian countries, is known for modern architectural design, a focus on health and the environment, and gourmet cuisine.

Currency: Danish Krone (DKK) (1 DKK = 0.13 Euro).


Another Scandinavian country, Sweden, boasts one of the most stable economies in Europe. Sweden is an ideal destination for witnessing the Northern Lights and strolling under the midnight sun.

Currency: Swedish Krona (SEK) (1 SEK = 0.086 Euro).


Hungary lacks seas and mountains and has modest dimensions, but it’s home to Europe’s largest lake, Balaton, referred to as the “Hungarian Sea” by locals, and the second-largest thermal lake, Heviz. Additionally, Hungary has a wealth of thermal springs and spa resorts, while Budapest stands out as one of the most beautiful cities globally.

Currency: Hungarian Forint (HUF) (1 HUF = 0.0026 Euro).


Located in the heart of Europe, Poland offers diverse attractions, from the Tatra and Beskidy Mountains to the Baltic Sea’s seaside resorts, medieval cities, numerous castles, and unique historical towns, including Wroclaw, Krakow, and Gdansk. Warsaw, the capital of Poland, is suitable for urban tourism and serves as an aviation hub for travel to other European and global destinations.

Currency: Polish Zloty (PLN) (1 PLN = 0.22 Euro).


The largest country in the Balkans, Romania, features charming villages, impressive castles, and incredible natural beauty. Romania is a paradise for bird enthusiasts, with numerous bird species found in the Danube Delta, considered the best-preserved delta in Europe. Romania is also home to the second-largest underground glacier in Europe.

Currency: Romanian Leu (RON) (1 RON = 0.20 Euro).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Related articles

Barcelona plans to increase the tourist tax

Barcelona plans to increase the tourist tax from €3.25 to €4 per person per night. This idea has...

Italy launches program for digital nomads

A new visa for remote workers is being implemented by Italy's law dated March 28, 2024, and comes...

New Requirement from Nepal for Mount Everest Climbing

Ahead of the Everest climbing season, Nepal has mandated all mountaineers to have GPS trackers. Previously, this requirement...

Hotel in Singapore that will pay if it rains during vacation

In Singapore, a hotel has emerged that pays its guests if it rains during their vacation, according to...